25 Year Club 50th Anniversary

Welcome to the 50th Anniversary web page of the UBC 25 Year Club. Since 1971 the University has held an annual dinner to recognize the long service of staff employees. Those staff with 35 and 40 years of service have been celebrated at the annual dinner since 2004 and 2014 respectively, and recognition of 50 years was introduced in the anniversary year.

50th Anniversary Commemorative Video

Below are some documents on the origin of the club as well as other information on the first dinner.

History of the Club (pdf)

Reflections on the Early Years (pdf)

President Walter Gage Founder of the UBC 25 Year Club (pdf)

Origin of the Club 1970 (pdf)

1971 Dinner Invite (office copy) (jpg)

25 Year Club Presidents (pdf)

Over the past 2 years, the co-chairs and committee members of the 50th Anniversary Committee have worked on updating the list of inductees, researching relevant historical documents in the University Archives and identifying photos from previous dinners. All of this information, including photos, PowerPoint presentations and programs (where available) is being uploaded to the respective years at www.ceremonies.ubc.ca/25yearclub.

NB A flickr account is not required to view the photos but is required to comment on a photo.

1971 Inductees Charter Members and Guest


1971 25YC 1st President G. McLintock

UBC Legacies

The UBC Legacies website is a wonderful variety of stories and materials about the history of UBC, as seen from the perspective of faculty, staff, alumni and friends of UBC who in one way or another have had a long association with the university. Eight members of the 25 Year Club are featured: Steve Bohnen, Harvey Burian, Debbie Harvie, Joan King, Robert MacKenzie, George McLaughlin, Richard Moore and Bev Richards.

List of Anniversary Committee members

Harvey Burian (Co-chair), Past President 1996, Human Resources (retired), Inducted 1995
Roland Porter (Co-chair), Past-President 2012, Bookstore (retired), Inducted 1998
Eilis Courtney (Co-chair), Campus & Community Planning, Inducted 2014
Margaret Leathley, President 2020, Human Resources, Inducted 2012
Daniel Fortier, Past President 2019, Extended Learning, Inducted 2017
Saker Hirani, Past President 2017, Allard School of Law, Inducted 2012
Sandy Tanaka, Past President 2015, Sauder School of Business, Inducted 2012
James Bellavance, Past President 2014, Building Operations, Inducted 2011
Linda Wensveen, Past President 2004, Library, Inducted 1997
Jill Fayant, Staff Pension Office, Human Resources
Liz King, Ceremonies and Events
Helen Gabor, Ceremonies and Events

With particular thanks to Stephanie Renwick and Becca Tobin from Ceremonies and Events for their technical and administrative support on the 25YC 50th Anniversary website and archival pieces.


For more information or to submit a memory or photo, contact the UBC Ceremonies Office: ceremonies.office@ubc.ca