UBC Awards for Outstanding Volunteer Contribution to UBC


The Slonecker Award

Established in 2001, the Slonecker Award is named for and in honour of the first recipients of the award, Dr. Charles E. and Mrs. Jan H. Slonecker. The award is presented annually to a volunteer who has contributed outstanding leadership and service to UBC over a sustained period of time.

We will take a few years hiatus to review this award program after awarding the 2012 medal.

Previous recipients are:

  • 2012: Ms. Charlotte Roth, Department of Curriculum & Pedagogy
  • 2011: Dr. Afton Cayford, Ceremonies and Events
  • 2010: Ms. Mary Taitt, Crane Library
  • 2009: Ms. Jean Lubin, Museum of Anthropology
  • 2008: Dr. Iain Taylor, Department of Botany
  • 2007: Mrs. Jane Hungerford, Alumni Association
  • 2006: Ms. Cathy Ebbehoj, School of Nursing Alumni
  • 2005: Mrs. Judith Eyrl, Museum of Anthropology
  • 2004: Mrs. Ollie Whitcutt, International House
  • 2003: Mrs. Sheila Archeck, Women’s Resources Centre
  • 2002: Mrs. Jo Robinson, Faculty Women’s Association
  • 2001: Dr. Chuck and Mrs. Jan Slonecker

The Outstanding Student Award

The Outstanding Student Award was established in 2008 to recognize students who had made exceptional volunteer contributions to UBC Vancouver during their time as a student.  As students are being recognized for their volunteer work through various channels on campus, the Outstanding Student Award is now discontinued.

Previous recipients are:

  • 2011: Mr. Lazar Milovanovic
  • 2010: Ms. Ellen Kim
  • 2009: Mr. June Lam
  • 2008: Ms. Katherine Jeans